New Data Centres

Microsoft announced that it will deliver cloud services from data centres in Johannesburg and Cape Town in 2018.

Services offered will include Microsoft Azure, Office 365, and Dynamics 365.

Speaking at the Microsoft Tech Summit in Cape Town, Azure Marketing General Manager Victoria Grady said South Africa must prepare for the launch of Azure of the new data centres.

Microsoft’s reach currently covers 42 regions, and its coverage includes at least two physical data centres locations to account for disaster recovery.

Previously, African companies relied on data centres beyond the continent’s landmass to use the cloud, but the new servers — which will be located in Cape Town and Johannesburg — will be a much shorter digital trip for cloud traffic.

The new data centres on the African continent will add to Redmond’s 38 sites across the globe.

The Cape Town- and Johannesburg-based centres are expected to be operational in early 2018.


The company confirmed the Azure preview programme will be available to the public.

Many South African organisations run on legacy systems which can be difficult to directly move to a cloud-based environment if approached incorrectly.

Microsoft did not state when the data centers would be deployed in 2018.

Current Locations

Azure Region
Central US Iowa
East US Virginia
East US 2 Virginia
US Gov Iowa Iowa
US Gov Virginia Virginia
North Central US Illinois
South Central US Texas
West US California
North Europe Ireland
West Europe Netherlands
East Asia Hong Kong
Southeast Asia Singapore
Japan East Tokyo, Saitama
Japan West Osaka
Brazil South Sao Paulo State
Australia East New South Wales
Australia Southeast Victoria
Central India Pune
South India Chennai
West India Mumbai

Cape Town Coming Soon!
Johannesburg Coming Soon!

There are currently no comments.